The Bay 101 Is Back Again
March 9, 2022
The World Poker Tour Bay 101 Shooting Stars main event- the only bounty tournament on the WPT calendar- has officially begun in San Jose, California, and once again the list of top players attending is substantial.

This interesting twist on a traditional poker tournament, usually features as many as 50 bountied pros, each worth $5,000 (and a t-shirt) to the player that knocks them out.  Some of the expected bounties for this year’s event include Daniel Negreanu, Chris "Jesus" Ferguson, Bertrand "Elky" Grospellier, Gus Hansen, Mike Matusow and PokerRoad Radio's own Gavin Smith.

The Bay 101 is a $10,000 buy-in, No-Limit Hold ‘em event, that starts players off with $20,000 in tournament chips and 60 minute levels- which increase to 90 and finally 120, as the tournament progresses.  Adding even more action to the proceedings, $10,000 is awarded to the Day 1 chip leader (from the multiple Day 1s), and all of Day 3 is played with only 6 competitors per table.

Past winners of the Bay 101 include Phil Gordon, Danny Nguyen, Nam Le, Ted Forrest and Brandon Cantu, and if one talks of past final tablists from the event, the list of top pros gets even longer including Gus Hansen, Chris Moneymaker, Men “The Master” Nguyen, Chad Brown, David Williams, J.J. Liu, Steve Sung and Jennifer Harman.

Last year’s winner was Steve Brecher, who outlasted a total field of 391 entrants- including the always tough Kathy Liebert who made it all the way into heads-up play- to score a top prize worth $1,025,500.

The final table finish positions for the 2009 WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star Championship were as follows:

1st.  Steve Brecher- $1,025,500

2nd.  Kathy Liebert- $550,000

3rd.  Chris Moore- $291,500

4th.  Tony Behari- $230,000

5th.  Thao Le- $180,000

6th.  Chau Vu- $135,000

Along with much of the rest of the poker media world, a full contingent of PokerRoadsters are already on the scene in San Jose, and are planning to deliver news, podcasts and videos right from the heart of the action all week.  To find out who will be the next WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star champion, stick with PokerRoad.com.
No comments.