The 411 On The 41st (WSOP): Matros And The Master Earn Gold
June 7, 2021
Two more familiar faces won gold bracelets over the weekend at the 2010 World Series of Poker, and though both are well known by tournament circuit regulars, the two couldn’t be more different in many ways.

The man they call “The Master,” Men Nguyen, wrapped up Event #10 of the 2010 WSOP on Saturday, the $10,000 buy-in Seven-Card Stud World Championship, earning a top prize worth $394,807.  Men outlasted a total field of 150 players, to score the W, including a stacked final table that held Brandon Adams, Steve Billirakis, Joe Cassidy, Dan Heimiller, Sirious Jamshidi and two players who already have gotten plenty of attention at this year’s Series having come in 1st and 2nd in the $50,000 buy-in Poker Players Championship, Vladimir Schmelev and Michael Mizrachi.

This is the seventh WSOP bracelet for the 55-year-old poker "Master," his first coming nearly 20 years ago in 1992, and with the win he now ties Billy Baxter and Phil Ivey for sixth place on the all-time most bracelets list.  Nguyen, originally from Phan Thiet, Vietnam, has over $9,000,000 in live tournament cashes, in a career that spans over three decades.

Matt Matros, on the other hand is arguably just warming up, and though already highly respected in the poker community with nearly $1.5 Million in live tournament cashes, his triumphant in Event #12, the $1,500 buy-in Limit Hold ‘em, marks his first WSOP bracelet win.

Matros, a Long Island, New York native, defeated a total field of 625 players to earn the bracelet, as well as a top prize worth $189,870.  His final table included no past WSOP champions, however it did hold quite a few highly skilled and highly proven pros including Jason Potter and Terrance Chan.  Other well known in the money finishers from Event #12 included Phil Ivey (53rd), David Plastik (27th), Marco Traniello (22nd) and Frank Kassela (10th).

The final table finish positions for Event #10, the $10,000 buy-in Seven-Card Stud World Championship:

1st.  Men Nguyen- $394,807

2nd.  Brandon Adams- $243,958

3rd.  Steve Billirakis- $152,787

4th.  Nikolay Evdakov- $110,628

5th.  Joe Cassidy- $86,461

6th.  Michael Mizrachi- $68,949

7th.  Vladimir Schmelev- $55,991

8th.  Sirous Jamshidi- $46,205

The final table finish positions for Event #12, the $1,500 buy-in Limit Hold ‘em:

1st.  Matt Matros- $189,870

2nd.  Ahmad Abghari- $117,272

3rd.  Terrence Chan- $83,185

4th.  Georgios Kapalas- $59,838

5th.  Adrian Dresel-Velasquez- $43,647

6th.  Jason Potter- $32,281

7th.  Jameson Painter- $24,198

8th.  Roberto Truijers- $18,385

9th.  Mark Burford- $14,149

For more information on these events or others at the 2010 World Series of Poker visit
No comments.