The 411 On The 41st (WSOP): Mahmood Wins The Heads-Up In Extra Innings
June 22, 2021
The 2010 World Series of Poker $10,000 buy-in, Heads-up No-Limit Hold ‘em Championship, wrapped up early Tuesday morning with Ayaz Mahmood, claiming the bracelet and a top prize worth $625,674. 

This event, which initially started on Friday, was originally scheduled for only three-days, but a fourth eventually had to be added thanks to both longer than expected semi-final matches during the “Elite Eight” stage, as well an extended first match- of three- between the final two players, Ayaz Mahmood and Ernst Schmejkal, that lasted over six hours.  That first match was eventually taken down by Mahmood, meaning he only needed one to more to claim the whole enchilada, however that didn’t stop today’s play from lasting over 5 hours as well, as both Schmejkal and Mahmood carefully poked and prodded each other for an advantage before Mahmood finally closed the door with a rivered straight.  Schmejkal, for his second place finish, earned close to $390,000.

256 players entered this year’s $10,000 buy-in Heads-up World Championship, allowing organizers to payout the top 32 places.  Some of the top players to cash in this year’s Heads-Up Championship included Antonio Esfandiari ($17,987), Sorel Mizzi ($17,987), Vivek Rajkumar ($38,424), Phil Gordon ($38,424), PokerRoad’s Gavin Smith (38,424) and Vanessa Rousso, the second place finisher of the 2009 NBC National Heads-up Championship, who made it all the way to the “Elite Eight” before finally falling to Schmejkal.

The final table finish positions for the “Elite Eight” of the 2010 WSOP Heads-up No-Limit Hold ‘em Championship were as follows:

1st.  Ayaz Mahmood- $625,682

2nd.  Ernst Schmejkal- $386,636

3rd.  Jason Somerville- $219,969

3rd.  Alexander Kostritsyn- $219,969

4th.  Vanessa Rousso- $94,956

4th.  Faraz Jaka- $94,956

4th.  Ludovic Lacay- $94,956

4th.  Thang Pham- $94,956

For more details on Event #35, the $10,000 buy-in Heads-up No-Limit Hold ‘em Championship, check out all the updates at powered by PokerNews.
No comments.