Anderson Aces First Ever WSOP Circuit Regional Championship
October 29, 2021
Ohio’s Jim Anderson, an ex-bartender recently turned poker pro, outmaneuvered a world class final table recently at the Hammond Horseshoe Casino outside of Chicago, Illinois, to take down the first ever $10,000 buy-in World Series of Poker Circuit Regional Championship.

For the victory, Anderson earned a $525,449 top prize, a gold WSOP Circuit ring and an entry into the end of Season $1,000,000 guaranteed Circuit Championship freeroll, which will award 1 of the 100 competitors invited a coveted WSOP bracelet.  This overwhelming prize, easily surpassed the young pro's previous best cash, which had come as a result of finishing in 242nd place at the 2010 WSOP Main Event this summer- a cash worth nearly $50,000.

In order to accomplish this most recent victory, Anderson had to outlast a 226 person starting field as well as a stacked final table that held among others not only Curt Kohlberg, Shannon Shorr, David “Doc” Sands and Foxwoods’ Bernard Lee, but also an aggressive chip leader that had well over five times Anderson’s chips, when the final table began

That Table Captain, Gabe Patgorski, wielded his massive stack like a weapon for much of the four day tournament, and nearly was able to do so all the way to the end, if not for Anderson and a huge all-in pot when play was three handed that vaulted Anderson to a dominating lead that Patgorski was never truly able to recover from.  In the end, Gabe was forced to settle for a runner-up prize worth $324,770, and a seat to the end of season WSOP Circuit Championship freeroll- a seat all the final tablists earned.

The final table finish positions from the 2010/2011 WSOP Circuit Midwest Regional Championship were as follows:

1st.  Jim Anderson- $525,449

2nd.  Gabe Patgorski- $324,770

3rd.  Bernard Lee- $236,368

4th.  Curt Kohlberg- $174,807

5th.  David Sands- $131,299

6th.  Shannon Shorr- $100,151

7th.  Brandon Adams- $77,556

8th.  Tony Hartmann- $60,952

9th.  Mark Owens- $48,615

For more information on this event, or on the rest of the 2010/2011 WSOP Circuit Season, visit
No comments.