2011 NBC NHUPC: The First Round Matches
March 4, 2022
After last night’s successful drawing party at the Pure nightclub in Caesars Palace, the first 32 match-ups of this year’s NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship are now known.

Among this year’s most intriguing match-ups are numerous tough battles like Sorel Mizzi versus Patrik Antonius, Jason Mercier versus Ted Forrest and Michael Mizrachi versus Vanessa Rousso, but there are plenty of fun matches to watch as well. 

Some of the matches sure to get a lot of attention include Gus Hansen grappling with Gavin Smith, Don Cheadle facing the highly intimidating Tom Dwan, and 2000 World Series of Poker Champion Chris “Jesus” Ferguson squaring off against the recently un-retired 2008 World Series of Poker champion Peter Eastgate.

The full list of competitors in this year’s NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship- and their first challengers- are as follows:

Spades Bracket Round 1:

Doyle Brunson vs. Jennifer Tilly
Erick Lindgren vs. Dennis Phillips
Daniel Cates vs. Phil Ivey
John Racener vs. Chris Moneymaker
Carlos Mortensen vs. Sam Trickett
Eric Baldwin vs. David Oppenheim
Patrik Antonius vs. Sorel Mizzi
Eugene Katchalov vs. Faraz Jaka

Hearts Bracket Round 1:

Kara Scott vs. David "Viffer" Peat
David Williams vs. Emmitt Smith
Gavin Smith vs. Gus Hansen
James Bord vs. Frank Kassela
Phil Laak vs. Daniel Negreanu
Michael Mizrachi vs. Vanessa Rousso
Don Cheadle vs. Tom Dwan
Phil Hellmuth vs. David Benyamine

Diamonds Bracket Round 1:

Bertrand "ElkY" Grospellier vs. Justin Young
Joe Hachem vs. Phil Galfond
Vanessa Selbst vs. Eli Elezra
Peter Eastgate vs.Chris Ferguson
Huck Seed vs. Jennifer Harman
Erik Seidel vs. Allen Cunningham
Mike Matusow vs. Greg Raymer
Thomas Marchese vs. Phil Gordon

Clubs Bracket Round 1:

Dwyte Pilgrim vs. Olivier Busquet
Liv Boeree vs. Jason Alexander
Jason Mercier vs. Ted Forrest
Andy Bloch vs. John Juanda
Barry Greenstein vs. Scotty Nguyen
Annette Obrestad vs. Ayaz Mahmood
Jonathan Duhamel vs. Melburn Whitmire
Nicolas Chouity vs. Antonio Esfandiari

For more information or to read updates from the event, check out coverage provided by
No comments.