WASSUP '08: The Mouth That Roared
June 12, 2021
Mike Matusow has won his third World Series Of Poker bracelet, and his first since 2002, by polishing off a star-packed final table in Event #18, $5,000 No-Limit 2-7 Draw w/Rebuys.

Matusow outlasted perhaps the most difficult final table of the series - a table which consisted of Jeffrey Lisandro, Erick Lindgren, Tom Schneider, Tony G, David Benyamine, and Barry Greenstein - to claim the coveted bracelet and a first place prize worth $537,862.

Matusow did not enter the final table as the chip leader. In fact, Matusow's stack was half that of chip leader Erick Lindgren when play began. This impressive chip lead had to make Lindgren the favorite before play began, but unfortunately for him, his WSOP rush (Lindgren recently won his first WSOP bracelet) didn't last. After a series of disappointing hands, Lindgren found himself all-in and forced to settle for fourth place money ($156,151) when Matusow finally busted him with an 8-7 low.

Once Lindgren's big stack was gone, only three players remained, all of whom would end up holding the chip lead at one point. Somewhat unexpectedly, that dubious honor of next to fall would go to PokerRoad's Barry Greenstein. Greenstein took 3rd for $225,552 when he missed a draw against Jeffrey Lisandro, pairing his seven against Lisandro's drawn Ace-10.

Three-handed, it looked to be anyone's game. However, that was not the case when heads-up play began as suddenly Matusow began putting on a clinic in heads-up domination, doubling up almost immediately. Matusow's aggressive style made quick work of Lisandro, forcing him to settle for the 2nd place prize of $347,004, in just over an hour of heads-up play.

For story in it's entirety, please visit the Independent Online Poker Authority,
No comments.