Steicke Wins The $100K Challenge
January 19, 2022
David Steicke, perhaps one of the least known players to compete in this year's Aussie Millions $100,000 AUD No Limit Hold 'Em Challenge, defied the pundits and took the title along with a first prize worth $1,200.000 AUD (about $804,000 USD).

En route to the victory, Steicke outlasted such household poker names as Phil Ivey, Chris Ferguson, Nam Le, Erick Seidel and Gus Hansen, not to mention a final table that held John Juanda, Tony Bloom and J.C. Tran.

This was Steicke's biggest win of his career, easily surpassing his previous best, a $166,333 fourth place finish, he took during a preliminary event at last year's World Series of Poker.

The final table finish positions for the 2009 Aussie Millions $100,000 AUD No Limit Hold 'em Challenge were as follows:

1st. David Steicke - $1,200,000*
2nd. Tony Bloom - $600,000
3rd. J.C. Tran - $300,000
4th. Dan Shak - $200,000
5th. Bill Jordanou - bubble
6th. John Juanda
*all totals shown in Australian dollars

Story by Mark Anderson
No comments.